The Other Cipher

paperback transparent (1).png
Author: Heidi Eljarbo
Series: Soli Hansen Mysteries, Book Two
Genre: Historical Mystery, Clean Read

About the Book:

 

In the captivating second book of the Soli Hansen Mysteries, two women—separated by more than three hundred years—are connected through their love of art.

1613. Fabiola Ruber has been wed to a man she does not know and must live in a country with a new language and different customs. The memories of lost love in her hometown Malta haunt her, and she sets out to find an artist who can do her portrait and recapture the feelings she had when she once modeled for a renowned Italian master painter.

1944. Four years into World War II, art historian Soli Hansen works with the Norwegian resistance to locate significant artwork and safeguard the pieces from the Nazis. When she finds out the Germans are after a hidden baroque depiction of a seventeenth-century woman, she must muster all her courage and skills to decipher encrypted codes and preserve the mysterious art before it’s too late.

Both women are determined to do what they can to bring healing and redemption to their otherwise ominous future. Through tangled, bewildering clues and an eye for detail, Soli’s bond to Fabiola grows closer by the day. She must find the missing painting before the enemy does.

Ranging from a privileged life in seventeenth century Antwerp to Oslo during the German occupation of the second world war, this dual timeline is a historical mystery thriller that will keep you guessing until the very end.

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Lucinda Riley, and Rhys Bowen.

Books in Soli Hansen Mysteries:

paperback transparent.png
paperback transparent (1).png

Awards and Nominations:

Coffee Pot Book Club Book Award .8.1.202

Read Mary Anne Yarde of The Coffee Pot Book Club's amazing review for The Other Cipher.

Praise for Book:

"Five stars for Heidi Eljarbo's "The Other Cipher! This fast-paced novel picks up where "Of Lightness and Dark" leaves off. Characters are further developed, courage is put to the test, and I learned more about Norway's history and part in World War II. I also loved learning more about the famous painter, Peter Paul Rubens. Eljarbo does a fantastic job of weaving facts into a mystery story that keep you engaged until the end. I'm looking forward to the next book! "       - Amazon Reviewer

"The plot is captivating and entertaining, written in a down-to earth manner anyone can follow. I love that the story is based on, which I have not come across in any other historical before. Continuing is Soli’s charming friendship (or relationship) with Detective Nikolai Lange and her fear of ruthless German Lieutenant Colonel Heinz Walter. Walter’s presence in the story makes an excellent dramatic element and I got a knot in my stomach every time he appeared. I enjoyed the surprising element of the disappeared young cryptographer and what he had discovered. This made a vital contribution to the progress of the plot. The tid-bits of information about life in war-time Oslo and the vibe of looming danger and uncertainty while in the process of finding and hiding the art, made the story come alive for me. They were my favorites, as I felt these parts were particularly well written. Readers of historical fiction in general and WWII plots in particular, will enjoy this one." - Randiloves2read

"What I love about this series, is it comes with a new perspective of that time, about the handling of art during the war. That's something I've never really learned about and these books started my curiosity on art at that time." - M Mosley

"Every detective should have a Soli Hansen on their team." Book two of the Solie Hansen Mysteries is a delight! Soli developed stronger relationships with her friends and colleagues as they quietly do their part to save the art. It's a page turner during WWII days sprinkled with calm chapters from the 1600's. I love Heidi Eljarbo's historical fiction mixed with art history. I always learn new things reading her books, especially about Norway. I enjoyed reading the Author's Notes at the end with references to the artist and paintings. Not only is this book a good read but another insight to the beautiful art of Peter Paul Rubens and Caravaggio. It's a win, win!!" - Claudia Richards

"WWII-era mystery with an artistic twist. This is a fun and exciting second installment in the Soli Hansen mystery series and offers an interesting glimpse into life during Norway's WWII occupation period." - Bruce Jacobs, author

"Heidi Eljarbo has done it again with The Other Cipher. I love how one is drawn into the book, visualizing the time period of WWII in Norway and all the characters involved. I love Soli Hansen's spirit, the mystery, her knowledge of artwork, her kindness. Loved the ending! So looking forward to Heidi's next book!" - Susan Allen

Another great one! I thought the characters, old and new were great and the intrigue was really there. Once again your descriptions were spot on and I could visualize everything.

Thanks so much for letting me experience more of your talent!

...  keep them coming!

Much suspense and scary ciphers in the book. Exciting how it all ties together.